Love at First Sight

One day, on my way to work, I passed by a woman who was dropping off her niece at school

Taufik Al Mubarak
2 min readApr 10, 2023

--

MrBob members

I will tell you a story about love at first sight when I was living in Jakarta in 2003. One day, on my way to work, I passed by a woman who was dropping off her niece at school. After her niece entered the schoolyard, she waited on a small bridge. I began to approach or hit on this woman and started a conversation with her.

At first, she gave me a cold shoulder, but I didn’t ignore her and kept talking to her. I intended to get her phone number. Luckily, she finally asked for my phone and wrote her number down. Unfortunately, I didn’t have any credit at that time, so I couldn’t make a miscall.

When I arrived at the office, I used the office phone to call her. I introduced myself as the man who met her at the school. We talked for a while, and she told me her name was Maya. We arranged to meet again.

In the evening after work, I called her and asked if she was available to hang out. She said yes, and I felt like a lovebird.

Maya was my first love. I fell in love with a woman who had a face similar to the Malaysian actress Michelle Yeoh. She was my lovers. We had a strong desire for each other, like a match made in heaven.

--

--